AESA Organizes Annual STEM Conference and Expo 

AESA Organizes Annual STEM Conference and Expo  Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America (AESA) is organizing a Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Conference & Expo at Glendale Tech Week from September 15th to 17th  2019.  AESA is excited to host these events as a strategic initiative that is bound to become a hallmark event […]

AESA Conference at Glendale Tech Week 2019 Call for Abstracts

GLENDALE, Calif. – Aug. 19, 2019 – On Sunday, September 15, 2019 the AESA Conference at Glendale Tech Week will exhibit cutting-edge STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) related presentations and multidisciplinary panel discussions in a wide variety of technical topics.

AESA (Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America) welcomes undergraduates, graduate students, and professionals engaged in science and engineering to apply and present their work in the form of a poster or oral presentation. Businesses and university affiliates are welcome to advertise academic programs and scout for bright talented individuals in our community. “Join us as we lead the local STEM Community into the next wave of innovation through creativity, collaboration, and craftsmanship. The exciting opportunities in our very own neighborhood eagerly await you at the AESA Conference and Expo at Glendale Tech Week,” said Shaunte Baboomian, Chair of AESA Conference & Expo Organizing Committee.

This is an exceptional collaboration and networking opportunity amongst diverse presenters, program affiliates and local audiences. Students and professionals in science and engineering are expected to present their research and technology-related advancements to dazzle your mind and imagination! AESA will also host an Expo on September 16 and 17 at the Armenian Society of Los Angeles. Attendees are welcome to bring their resume and meet the various businesses that will be exhibiting at the event.

Register at and indicate whether you would like to be considered for an oral presentation in addition to your poster board at the conference. General admission is free.

Abstract due date: September 12, 2019 11:59 PM


Conference at Glendale Tech Week 2019:
Date: Sunday, September 15, 2019
Time: 1 PM – 5 PM
Location: Glendale Central Library, located at 222 E. Harvard St., Glendale, CA 91205

The Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America (AESA) is a non-partisan, non-sectarian, and non-profit organization with a mission to enable and empower an Armenian STEM community worldwide to reach its fullest potential and facilitate global progress through STEM education, collaboration and humanitarian initiatives.

Sign up for AESA’s newsletter (https:ww// to stay informed on events and opportunities in the local STEM community. Follow AESA on Facebook ( for all updates!

Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America

Climate Change and the Glendale City Council Election

    August 27, 2019

Ara Chutjian, PhD

AESA President

Fellow, American Physical Society

Faculty Associate, California Institute of Technology


Climate Change and the Glendale City Council Election

Glendale, CALIF. (August 27, 2019) – The Armenian Engineers and Scientists of America (AESA) is deeply concerned over the cascading advance of climate-change processes occurring on our Earth. As of this writing, massive forest fires in the Brazilian Amazon, in Siberia, Alaska, and the Canary Islands are consuming O2 (oxygen), destroying the sources (that is, trees and plants) of future O2, and releasing CO2 (carbon dioxide). The resulting warming is leading to further melting of ice, reducing the Earth’s albedo, and releasing additional CO2 and CH4 (methane) frozen within ice fields and their underlying tundra.
Given this fact-based scenario, AESA encourages the Glendale Citizenry in the upcoming City Council Election to favor those candidates who have demonstrated a clear commitment to curbing Glendale’s atmospheric emissions. Most prominently, this includes using alternate sources of energy – such as solar, hydro, geothermal, wind, nuclear, and batteries – to the Grayson Power Plant, with its releases of CH4 and CO2, and its proposed $0.5B refurbishment. This will be a step towards limiting the rise of Earth’s average global temperature to 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels: the agreed-upon rise set by the Paris Accord, to which the City of Glendale is a signatory.

Armenia Wins 5 Medals at Astronomy and Astrophysics International Olympiad

KESZTHELY, Hungary—A team of schoolchildren representing  Armenia won five medals—two silver and three bronze—at the 2019 International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics, which was held in Keszthely, Hungary, reported

A total of 53 teams, comprised of 260 schoolchildren from 46 countries competed at the event, the Armenian Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sport reported.

12th grader Davit Zohrabyan and 11th grader Karen Baghdasaryan won silver medals for the team, while 11th graders Eva Hunanyan, Davit Kirakosyan and 12th grader Kristine Grigoryan won bronze medals. The students in attendance represented the Yerevan Physics and Mathematics Specialized School, which is named after Artashes Shahinyan.

During the Olympiad, a six-member multinational team competition took place, in which Armenia’s schoolchildren competed in different teams.

The team including Kristine Grigoryan won first place, while Davit Zohrabyan’s team came in second place.

At the 2018 International Olympiad on Astronomy and Astrophysics held in Beijing, China, the Armenian team won 2 silver and 1 bronze medals, as well as 2 commendations.

Int’l MATHEMATICS competition: Armenia 13th out of 77 countries

Int’l MATHEMATICS competition: Armenia 13th out of 77 countries

The International University Mathematics Competition was held in Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria (Jul 28 – Aug 3). The 6 students from Yerevan State University won 3 Gold and 3 Silver medals, placing 13th out of 77 countries.


GOLD : Albert Gevorgyan, Grigor Keropyan, Arsen Hambardzumyan

SILVER : Vahagn Altunyan, Sevak Abrahamyan, Arman Bayramyan


35th Annual AESA Gala in The News


Dear AESA Members and Friends,

Here are some links to articles published in the Armenian news media
regarding 35th Annual AESA Gala.